Language selection

Search

European Union (EU) – Export requirements for meat and poultry products

Note: effective on January 15, 2022, due to implementation of the new EU Animal Health Law (Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/2235) / early adopters pilot project will allow eligible establishments to use the new certificates through the Trade Control and Expert System New Technology (TRACES) prior to this date.

On this page

1. Eligible/ineligible products

a. Eligible products

Meat and products derived thereof, as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004 derived from animals or products covered by model certificates established by the European Union (EU). Please refer to section on documentation for applicable EU regulatory certification requirements.

b. Ineligible products

1.1 Public Health (PH) requirements

The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the EU, specifically Annex 5 on sanitary and phytosanitary measures establishes the equivalence of public health (PH) sanitary measures implemented in the respective markets for specific categories of products, and when applicable, the remaining "special conditions" for trade. Unless a specific EU requirement is outlined in these requirements, implementation of Canadian requirements satisfy EU PH requirements.

For categories of products not included in Annex 5-E, the determination of equivalence between each respective PH markets requirements have yet to be conducted and, as a result, market access will be based on compliance with applicable EU requirements.

1.2 Pre-export approval by the competent authority of the importing country

Only establishments listed by the EU may export edible meat products to the EU. The EU list of approved establishments specifies the scope of approval, including eligible products.

1.3 Production controls and inspection requirements – Establishments

1.3.1 Special conditions established as a result of equivalence determination for fresh meat

Special conditions established as a result of equivalence determination for fresh meat (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from ruminants, equidae, porcine, poultry and farmed game from deer, rabbit and ratites.

1.3.1.1 EU rules on transmissible spongiform encephalopathy

Specified risk materials (as defined in Annex V to Regulation (EC) No 999/2001) must be removed from edible products intended for export to the EU.

  1. As regards bovine animals:
    • the skull excluding the mandible and including the brain and eyes, and the spinal cord of animals aged over 12 months
    • the vertebral column excluding the vertebrae of the tail, the spinous and transverse processes of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar vertebrae and the median sacral crest and wings of the sacrum, but including dorsal root ganglia of animals aged over 30 months, and
    • the tonsils, the last 4 meters of the small intestine, the caecum and the mesentery of animals of all ages
  2. As regards ovine and caprine animals: the skull, including the brain and eyes, and the spinal cord of animals aged over 12 months or which have a permanent incisor erupted through the gum, or aged over 12 months as estimated by a method approved by the competent authority of the Member State of slaughter
1.3.1.2 Shrouds not to be used on carcasses
1.3.1.3 EU rules on decontamination

Article 3 of Regulation (EC) No 853/2004 provides that food business operators are not to use any substance other than potable water to remove surface contamination from products of animal origin, unless the use of the substance has been approved in accordance with that regulation.

The following decontamination interventions are approved by the EU:

  1. steam pasteurization
    Conditions for use:
    • water for used for steam production is potable
    • steam application does not result in irreversible discolouration of the meat (as determined by visual inspection)
    • hygiene requirements are respected
    • the intervention is considered as a critical control point in the Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) plan
  2. lactic acid
    Conditions for use: according to Regulation (EC) No 101/ 2013, the use of lactic acid to reduce microbiological surface contamination on bovine (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) carcasses or half or quarters is allowed at the slaughter establishment only, effective February 25, 2013. The specific requirements related to the use of lactic acid can be found in the annex of the regulation.
  3. recycled hot water
    Conditions for use:
    • the recycled hot water must be obtained from heating and recycling potable water in a closed and separated system
    • the recycled water must be submitted to:
      • minimal heating temperature/time regime before its application on carcasses which must ensure compliance with microbiological parameters of the potable water
      • renewal regime at the appropriate frequency including, where necessary, skimming of gross particles, filtration and addition of potable water, which must ensure compliance with the chemical parameters of potable water
    • the recycled hot water must only be applied on entire carcasses or half carcasses of domestic ungulates and farmed game, under controlled and verified conditions
    • the recycled hot water must not be applied on carcasses with visible faecal contamination
    • the application of recycled hot water on carcasses must not result in any irreversible physical modification of the meat
    • the application of recycled hot water on carcasses must be performed before the carcasses are place in the chilling or refrigerating room
    • the conditions in the points above must be integrated in the procedures based on HACCP principles including at least the following criteria:
      • the sampling of carcasses is implemented in accordance with the provisions of Annex T and Annex U found under the United States of America – Export requirements for meat and poultry products. Additionally, validation data of the intervention process under the in-plant specific conditions exists and are maintained by the operator. It contains data on the correlation between the microbiological load pre and post-application. Refer to Preventive controls for E. coli O157/NM in raw beef products and Preventive control plan (PCP). The validation data must be readily available to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) inspection staff and to EU officials upon request.
      • the minimal heating temperature/time regime applied to recycled water before its application on carcasses must be continuously monitored by instrumental measurements, documented and recorded
      • the compliance of the recycled water applied on carcasses with the microbiological and chemical parameters set up for potable water must be verified periodically by testing of water, documented and recorded
      • the compliance of the recycled water applied on carcasses with indicator parameter of Clostridium perfringens set up for potable water must be verified by periodic monitoring, documented and recorded
1.3.1.4 Microbiological testing for export to Finland and Sweden

Microbiological testing must be in accordance with Commission Regulation (EC) No 1688/2005 (Salmonella guarantees covering trade in fresh meat from bovine and porcine animals and fresh poultry meat).

1.3.1.5 Ante-mortem inspection

Routine ante-mortem inspection procedures apply provided a CFIA veterinarian is present on premises when ante-mortem inspection is conducted on animals intended to be slaughtered for export to the EU.

1.3.1.6 Post-mortem inspection
  1. Pork:
    • in accordance with Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1375: skeletal muscle is tested for Trichinella by using a validated digestion method approved by the CFIA in a CFIA laboratory or a laboratory certified by the CFIA for that purpose, or
    • skeletal muscle is submitted to cold treatment by using a treatment approved by the CFIA
  2. Bovine over 6 weeks old:
    • liver: incision of the gastric surface and at the base of the caudate lobe to examine the bile ducts (see Annex L)
    • head: 2 incisions in the external masseters parallel to the mandible
  3. Domestic solipeds: in accordance with Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1375, skeletal muscle is tested for Trichinella by using a validated digestion method approved by the CFIA in a CFIA laboratory or a laboratory certified by the CFIA for that purpose.
  4. Farmed game – wild boar: in accordance with Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1375, skeletal muscle is tested for Trichinella by using a validated digestion method approved by the CFIA in a CFIA laboratory or a laboratory certified by the CFIA for that purpose.
1.3.1.7 Regular check on general hygiene

In addition to Canadian operational and preoperational sanitation requirements, the products testing requirements for the United States of America (USA) as provided in Annex T: Testing for Escherichia coli (E. coli) in Slaughter Establishments, and T-1, and Annex U; USDA Performance Standards for Salmonella, and U-1: found under the United States of America – Export requirements for meat and poultry products apply.

Notes:

For activities, other than slaughter, to which process hygiene criteria apply according to Regulation (EC) No 2073/2005 (for example, meat preparations), but are not covered by corresponding Food Safety and Inspection Services (FSIS) requirements the operator is responsible to develop, implement and maintain appropriate control programs to ensure compliance with relevant EU criteria. The control programs must be acceptable to the Inspector in Charge (IIC) and must include monitoring, verification and record keeping activities and deviation procedures and be auditable and effective.

1.3.1.8 EU microbiological food safety criteria

Applicable EU requirements are outlined in Regulation (EC) No 2073/2005.

Operators are responsible to ensure that products intended for export comply with relevant microbiological food safety criteria by developing, implementing and maintaining appropriate HACCP plan or other control programs. The control programs must be acceptable to the IIC and must include monitoring, verification and record keeping activities and deviation procedures and be auditable and effective.

1.3.2 Other PH requirements outside of the scope of the equivalence recognition

1.3.2.1 Eligibility requirements for animals slaughtered for manufacturing products destined to the EU market
  1. Cattle: animals must be duly registered under the "Canadian Program for Certifying Freedom from Growth Enhancing Products (GEPs) for the Export of Beef to the EU" (see Annex R for detailed requirements).

    For more information, please refer to the CFIA's User Manual in Annex R for more information on the program: Annex S: The Canadian Program for Certifying Freedom from Growth Enhancing Products (GEPs) for the Export of Beef to the EU.

  2. Calves: animals must be duly registered under the Canadian Growth Enhancing Products-Free (GEPs-Free) Veal Certification Program (refer to Annex U EU for detailed requirements).

  3. Pigs: animals must be raised in accordance with the conditions prescribed under the CFIA Ractopamine-Free Pork Certification Program found in Annex T – Export requirements for meat.

    The operator must ensure that:

    • producers or person in charge of the pigs intended for slaughter for export to the EU are enrolled in an on-farm food safety program recognized by the CFIA (the Canadian Quality Assurance (CQA®) program administered by the Canadian Pork Council of Canada is currently the only program recognized).
    • A swine information document (SID) is presented for each shipment of pigs to be slaughtered for export to EU member countries (see model SID in Annex E for details).

    The operator must review the SID to ensure the document is complete and acceptable. After the operator has completed the review of the SID and found the animal(s) it represents acceptable for slaughter for export to the EU, the SID shall be provided to the responsible CFIA Veterinarian.

    The CFIA veterinarian will take into account the information provided by SID when carrying out AM and PM inspections and will adjust inspection procedures as deemed necessary.

    The operator shall file all information documents and keep them for a minimum of 1 year and make them available to the CFIA upon request.

    If the veterinary determines that the animals are not acceptable for slaughter for export to the EU and/or the information document is not complete, the CFIA veterinarian will inform the operator of the non-compliance in accordance with routine practices. The operator must investigate and determine why an incomplete/unacceptable information document was submitted as acceptable to the CFIA and take appropriate preventative actions. The animals represented by the unacceptable document shall not proceed to slaughter for export to the EU unless satisfactory corrective action is taken by the operator.

  4. Bison: treatment and movement records must be implemented. Only those animals for which the owners or persons in charge are able to declare that:

    • the animals were not treated, during their lifetime, with prohibited products or substances as defined in Annex A.1; and
    • when other products or substances have been administered to the animals, withdrawal period has been observed may be accepted for slaughter for the EU market
  5. Farmed game animals: the operators of the slaughter establishments must have the written program to meet the following requirements:

    the animals must come from holdings which receive regular veterinary inspection visits to detect diseases transmissible to humans or animals. See Annex D.1 for a sample of animal production declaration to certify that animals are not coming from a herd where Chronic Wasting Disease has been confirmed or officially suspected, the veterinarian must ensure that owner listed on cervid movement permit (CMP), is not found in "CWD case number tracking sheet" (accessible only on the Government of Canada network – RDIMS 2668495) or at the following Pathway: "O-Drive" O:\APHD\AHD\DisCtrl\DiseaseInvestigations\2018\CWD_MDC (accessible only on the Government of Canada network).

    Note: to obtain a copy of the latter references please contact the local CFIA inspector.

  6. Ratites: the animals must come from holdings which receive regular veterinary inspection visits to detect diseases transmissible to humans or animals. See Annex C-1.1 for a model of animal production declaration.
  7. Turkeys: animals must be raised in accordance with the conditions prescribed under the Canadian Ractopamine-free Poultry Certification Program. Please refer to Annex U – Export requirements for meat.
  8. Horse: new horse meat certificates are effective as of March 1, 2017. To meet new certification requirements, the imported horses are required to be resident of Canada for 6 months prior to slaughter. Therefore, meat derived from horses coming for direct slaughter from the US to Canada is not eligible for export to EU.

    The operators of horse slaughter and processing establishments are required to amend their written control programs to include segregation procedures for live horses and horse meat destined to the EU. The amended control programs developed by the operator must be reviewed and found satisfactory by the IIC. The controls must include monitoring, verification, deviation procedures and record keeping activities, and be verifiable and effective. The verification of the implementation and maintenance of the control programs by the operator will be performed using routine inspection procedures.

    Because the Equine Information Document (EID) includes information on the primary location of the animal for 6 months prior to slaughter, the CFIA will accept EID as proof of residency. For detailed information on EID, please refer Annex E: Equine Information Document.

    If the veterinary review determines that the animal is not acceptable for slaughter and/or the EID is not complete at the time of arrival of the animal, meat derived from such animal will not be eligible for export to the EU.

  9. The operator of EU approved establishments has to develop, implement and maintain control programs to identify eligible animals to the CFIA official veterinarian prior to ante-mortem inspection.
    • Operators of establishments must develop, implement and maintain effective and verifiable receiving controls to ensure that animals received at the establishment in view of manufacturing of products destined to the EU do not contain traces of prohibited substances or products and meet applicable EU requirements
    • Operators of establishments must develop, implement and maintain effective and verifiable traceability control programs as outlined in section 1.4.2.3
    • The controls must include monitoring, verification and deviation procedures
    • The measures taken by the operator to comply with applicable requirements must be reviewed and found satisfactory by the CFIA official veterinarian. Compliance will be verified through routine inspection activities
1.3.2.2 Requirements governing the production of wild game meat

Specific production requirements: Chapter I and II section IV of Annex III on specific requirements of Regulation (EC) 853/2004.

Specific inspection requirements: Sections 7 and 8 of Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/624 and Sections 8,10, 12 to 15, 28, 29, 33, 34, et 37 of Commission implementing regulation (EU) 2019/627.

1.3.2.3 Animal health requirements

Refer to section 2 for applicable requirements.

1.3.2.4 Establishment approval procedures

The operator must make a formal application using Annex I – Application for Establishment ApprovalExport requirements for meat, through the IIC and the Regional Veterinary Officer (RVO).

  1. In the application, the operator must confirm awareness of applicable requirements and describe controls that have been developed and will be implemented to ensure that the establishment is in compliance with applicable EU requirements.
  2. The control programs must be acceptable to the IIC and must include monitoring, verification and record keeping activities, deviation procedures and be auditable and effective.
  3. A RVO will perform an inspection of the establishment in operation to evaluate its compliance with EU requirements using Annex M: Establishment Profile and Compliance Verification Checklist. The RVO will inform the operator of his/her findings.
  4. If the RVO is satisfied that the facilities, operations and inspection comply with the requirements, and that the operator will undertake to maintain ongoing compliance with all applicable requirements, he/she will forward a copy of Annex M and Annex I to the Operations Veterinary Specialist – Meat Export (OVS) or substitute for final review.
  5. If the application is found acceptable at the OVS level, the OVS will in turn forward a recommendation for requesting approval of the establishment by the EU to the Food Import and Export Division (FIED) by submitting Annex I. The copy of Annex M will be kept on file at the Area Office.
  6. The Director of the FIED will make a formal recommendation for approval to the EU authorities.
  7. The EU authorities will confirm approval by modification of the list of approved establishments published on their website and indicate the date at which the approval becomes effective.
1.3.2.5 Annual review of EU requirements

Veterinarian-in-Charge (VIC) and IIC are required to review Annex M and control programs to meet EU requirements. These reviews should be performed yearly and recorded using appropriate Compliance Verification System (CVS) or SIP (Standard Inspection Procedures) tasks, as applicable.

1.4 Products specifications, production controls and inspection requirements

Operators are responsible to ensure that products intended for export comply with relevant finish product requirements (for example, composition standards, microbiological food safety criteria) by developing, implementing and maintaining appropriate control programs. The control programs must be acceptable to the IIC and must include monitoring, verification and record keeping activities and deviation procedures and be auditable and effective.

1.4.1 Special conditions established as a result of equivalence determination

1.4.1.1 Meat products

Meat products (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from ruminants, equidae, pigs, poultry and farmed game.

1.4.1.2 Minced meat and meat preparation

Minced meat, meat preparations (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from ruminants, equidae, pigs, poultry and farmed game.

1.4.1.3 Processed animal proteins

Processed animal proteins (greaves) as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from ruminants, equidae, pigs, poultry and farmed game.

1.4.1.4 Rendered animal fat

Rendered animal fat (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from ruminants, equidae, pigs, poultry and farmed game.

1.4.1.5 Animal casings

Animal casings (as defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004) derived from cattle, sheep, goats and pigs. As per Animal Health Law (Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/2235), the EU requires guarantees on the residues status of casings as a condition for their entry into the EU and that third countries will have to be approved and listed as such. To meet this requirement, the casings for export to the EU must be tested for chemical residues of chloramphenicol, nitrofurans and nitro-imidazoles. These drugs are banned for use in food animals in EU and Canada.

To maintain eligibility for export to the EU, exporting establishments have to implement a sampling plan as per Table 2 of Regulation (EU) No 37/2010 at a sampling rate of 1 sample per 300 tons production, with a minimum of five samples for production of less than 1,500 tons. Samples may be drawn from casings (if treated with dry salt) or casing or brine (if treated with brine). If brine is sampled, traceability to casings should be ensured. Samples must be taken from the final product (and in any case, not before the salting/curing step).

The operators will be required to provide the details on testing program such as the specific laboratory and analytical methodology to the CFIA before export certification can be issued.

The operators of casing facilities can use laboratories listed at the following links:

For more details please contact your CFIA inspector

1.4.1.6 EU rules on transmissible spongiform encephalopathy

Specified risk materials (as defined in Annex V to Regulation (EC) No 999/2001) must be removed from edible products intended for export to the EU.

  1. As regards bovine animals:
    • the skull excluding the mandible and including the brain and eyes, and the spinal cord of animals aged over 12 months
    • the vertebral column excluding the vertebrae of the tail, the spinous and transverse processes of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar vertebrae and the median sacral crest and wings of the sacrum, but including dorsal root ganglia of animals aged over 30 months, and
    • the tonsils, the last 4 meters of the small intestine, the caecum and the mesentery of animals of all ages
  2. As regards ovine and caprine animals: the skull, including the brain and eyes, and the spinal cord of animals aged over 12 months or which have a permanent incisor erupted through the gum, or aged over 12 months as estimated by a method approved by the competent authority of the Member State of slaughter.

1.4.2 Other PH requirements outside of the scope of the equivalence recognition

1.4.2.1 High quality bovine meat – EU import tariffs

The first condition in order for Canadian federally registered beef establishments to access EU markets, Canadian beef must be produced under the Canadian Program for Certifying Freedom from Growth Enhancing Products (GEPs) for the export of beef to the EU.

There are 2 preferential rate tariff quotas under which Canadian beef may enter the EU:

  1. the first quota is allocated under the provision of Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/761, and applies to bovine meat products (that is, including bison meat). In the case of beef products, prior to the signing of export documents to meet this tariff the Veterinarian in Charge (VIC) should have on file:

    • the completed and producer signed Annex R-7 (Transfer Certificate) accompany the cattle to the abattoir. The VIC will keep the original, and extra copies are made by establishment for their purposes
    • a copy of the accredited veterinarian's last visit Annex R7.1 Certificate of Compliance which was issued within the last 6 months for feedlots and once per year for cow-calf operations and auction markets is kept on file by the VIC

    Note: the above conditions do not apply to meat derived from bison for which the Canadian Program for Certifying Freedom from Growth Enhancing Products (GEPs) for the export of beef to the EU does not apply.

    High quality bovine meat must be meeting the following definition: carcasses or any cuts obtained from bovine animals not over 30 months of age which have been fed for 100 days or more on nutritionally balanced, high-energy-content rations containing not less than 70% grain and comprising at least 20 pounds total feed per day.

    Beef: meat graded "Canada A", "Canada AA", "Canada AAA", "Canada Choice" and "Canada Prime" according to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency – Government of Canada automatically meet the definition above concerning age and feeding (Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/761).

    Bison meat: meat graded A1, A2, A3 and A4 according to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency – Government of Canada automatically meet the definition above concerning age and feeding (Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/761).

    In the case of this specific quota, the Canadian high quality beef must be covered by a "Certificate of Authenticity" issued by the CFIA (Annex G).

    It is a condition of sale of high quality beef to the EU that the shipment be certified by a grader as having met the applicable quality criteria.

    The operator of the exporting establishment accepts the responsibility of establishing, with input from the Area Office as required, procedures which will allow the Canadian Beef Grading Agency grading staff to certify that the product shipped meets the standards required by the export contract.

    In light of the presence of the inspection legend and of the specification for high quality beef, the Certificate of Authenticity (Annex G) shall be signed by an Official Veterinarian and by a Grader of the Canadian Beef Grading Agency. The official veterinarian should be the last 1 to sign the certificate.

    In view of the fact that this certificate will be accompanied by the Certificate of Inspection certificate number shall be the number of the Official Meat Inspection Certificate (OMIC , Form CFIA/ACIA 1454). The Annex G should be printed, signed and downloaded in TRACES as an accompanying document

    An original and at least 1 copy of the Certificate of Authenticity corresponding to the model in Annex G shall be issued. They shall be printed and completed in 1 of the official languages of the EU, (that is, English, French, German or Italian). Handwritten documents must be printed in block capitals. The original certificate and the copy (or copies) shall be presented to the customs authority of the importing state.

    For your information, note that the Certificate of Authenticity is valid for 3 months from the date of issue. However, the certificate may not be presented after December 31 of its year of issue.

  2. the second quota is known as the Tariff Free Quota which is described in Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No 481/2012 and is applicable only to beef products. Prior to the signing of export documents to meet this tariff, the VIC should have on file:

    • the completed and producer signed Annex R-7 (Transfer Certificate). Accompany the cattle to the abattoir. The VIC will keep the original, and extra copies are made by establishment for their purposes
    • a copy of the accredited veterinarian's last visit report (Annex R-7,1) Certificate of Compliance which was issued within the last 6 months for feedlots and once per year for cow-calf operations and auction markets is kept on file by the VIC
    • Annex R-14.3 (Tariff Free Quota Attestation). Since the VIC is not in a position to directly verify the on-farm tariff free quota feeding requirements, Annex R-14.3 serves as the required supporting documentation to allow the VIC at the slaughter plant to certify these export requirements

In the case of this specific quota, the Canadian high quality beef must be covered by a Certificate of Authenticity (see Annex G-1 for the model certificate to be used).

The carcass from which the beef cuts are derived shall be evaluated by an evaluator employed by an organization recognized by the Government of Canada and the carcass will be evaluated according to the High Quality Beef definition contained in Annex R-13. An attestation of grading must be provided to the CFIA veterinarian who will issue the export certification.

Note: in case of Switzerland, the Certificate of Authenticity, in this case Annex G, applies (which is different from Annex G EU), Switzerland – Export requirements for meat and poultry products.

1.4.2.2 Traceability

In order to prove compliance with EU import conditions, which are summarized in this section, the operator must develop and implement control programs to demonstrate that products produced for the EU market meet applicable requirements and to assure complete segregation when both eligible and ineligible animals or products are present on premises.

The control programs should clearly outline the controls that will be implemented to ensure that applicable requirements are met so that product eligibility can be established and, when applicable, to ensure that eligible products can be distinguished from ineligible products at all times. The control programs must be documented in such a way that products certified will be traceable to production records so compliance and accuracy of information appearing on the certificate can be demonstrated.

The control programs must be acceptable to the IIC and must include monitoring, verification and record keeping activities and deviation procedures and be auditable and effective.

1.4.2.3 Eligible products movement controls

Controls to implement to ensure that eligible meats and meat products are kept within the EU circuit.

Annex J of Export requirements for meat must be used when eligible products are moved between establishments. Eligible products must be kept segregated from ineligible products.

1.4.2.4 Imported meat products

Meat may be imported in Canada for use in the processed products for export to the EU. The imported products must be packaged in shipping containers sealed with the identification mark used in the country of origin for exports directly to the EU. The imported meat originating from countries other than EU country members, must also be accompanied by additional certification that provides guarantees that all applicable EU requirements are met (for instance attestations in part 2 of the relevant EU certificate as completed for direct export to the EU).

This will allow the CFIA to complete the EU certificate that will need to be issued by the CFIA for the finished products destined to the EU. The attestations specific to the country of origin of the animals/products will need to be provided to the CFIA by the competent authorities of the country of origin of the imported product. Imported product must be handled exclusively in facilities approved for the EU, including import and cold storage facilities. The operator of the exporting establishment is responsible to provide the required information to the satisfaction of the CFIA. A copy of the documentation establishing the eligibility of the imported product must be kept on file so traceability requirements outlined in 1.4.2.2 above are met.

In addition, Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2021/404, Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2021/405 and the lists of EU approved establishments can be consulted to verify the eligibility of imported products.

1.5 Labelling, packaging and marking requirements

1.5.1 Identification marking

The label bearing the health mark (see Annex Q) must be applied on before the product leaves the establishment of production. The label must show a serial number.

In case of the pork product, health mark labels will be applied after the product meets the EU requirements for Trichinella controls (freezing, testing etc.). However, Section I, Chapter III of Annex I to Regulation (EC) No 854/2004 allows application of health mark before the results of any examination for trichinosis is available, if the official veterinarian is satisfied that meat from the animals concerned will be placed on the market only if the results are satisfactory. This is also applicable for pork products to be subjected to freezing treatment for Trichinella control.

In the case of meat in cuts and offal, the health mark label must be applied to the packaging in such a way that it is destroyed when the packaging is opened. It must be placed over the lid and bottom junction, or over an encircling strap of the carton to prevent any unauthorized tampering of the product. In cases where the label is applied over an encircling strap, it must be applied in such a way that it will be broken when the strap is removed. If it is possible to remove the strap (and, therefore, open the carton) without damaging or breaking the label, it will be deemed not to comply with EU requirements. This is not necessary, however, if the process of opening destroys the packaging. When wrapping provides the same protection as packaging, the label may be affixed to the wrapping.

To order labels bearing the health mark, the procedure described Export requirements for meat must be followed. Specifications for the health mark should be reviewed and accepted by the RVO. (Applicable information for the health mark are given in (iii) below). When requested by the operator, additional information may appear on the sticker provided it is factual and not misleading. It is understood that unlike export stickers (CFIA/ACIA 4091), the stickers used to apply the health mark must not bear the department name, logo or form number, but the letters EU.

Log books as required for export stickers (CFIA/ACIA 4091) must also be kept for the health mark label (described Export requirements for meat).

Boxes bearing the health mark label, as described above, need not bear the export stickers (CFIA/ACIA 4091). Instead, they should be stamped at the time of export with the export stamp.

1.5.2 Health marking and identification of meat

1.5.3 Labelling of veal and veal products

The EU has specific requirements regarding the labelling of veal and veal products. The details are outlined in Regulation (EC) No 1308/2013 establishing a common organization of the markets in agricultural products. Part 1 of Annex VII of the regulation establishes the requirements for the marketing of meat of bovine animals aged 12 months or less.

1.5.4 Labelling of beef and beef products

The compulsory labelling system under EU Regulation (EC) No 1760/2000 outlines requirements for a link between, on the one hand, the identification of the carcass, quarter or pieces of meat and, on the other hand, the individual animal or, where this is sufficient to enable the accuracy of the information on the label to be checked, the group of animals concerned. Articles 11 to 15 inclusively must be consulted for detailed requirements.

The operator is responsible for taking the necessary steps to ensure compliance with all requirements applicable to the products intended for export.

2. Animal health requirements

The determination of equivalence of each respective market's Animal Health (AH) requirements relevant to edible meat products has yet to be conducted. As a result, market access is based on compliance with applicable EU AH certification requirements.

Canadian animal health requirements and our advantageous animal health status allows to certify compliance with EU AH certification requirements for diseases of interest.

When necessary a note of guidance to signing veterinarian explaining the understanding between the EU and the CFIA veterinary authorities of specific attestations included in EU certification requirements is provided in this section. It clarifies the basis on which CFIA veterinarians will certify the attestation in question, when included in model certificates prescribed by EU.

The following is applicable to certification requirements outlined in 4 below.

1) Requirements regarding establishment of origin of the animals from which fresh meat is derived

The following particular certification requirements outlined in part 2 of the model EU certificate are considered to be automatically met on the basis of compliance with relevant Canadian animal health requirements.

(1) Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding mechanically separated meat, of domestic bovine animals (Model Certificate BOV) and Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding offal, minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of animals of the family Bovidae (other than domestic bovine, ovine and caprine animals), camelid animals and cervid animals kept as farmed game) - (Model Certificate RUF)

"II.2.3. has been obtained from animals coming from establishments:

Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of ratites (Model Certificate RAT)

"II.2.4. has been obtained from animals coming from establishments:

2) Requirements for the dispatch of animals to the slaughter establishment, including the requirements for cleaning and disinfection of the means of transport:

Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding mechanically separated meat, of domestic bovine animals (Model Certificate BOV), and animal health/official Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding offal, minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of animals of the family Bovidae (other than domestic bovine, ovine and caprine animals), camelid animals and cervid animals kept as farmed game) - (Model Certificate RUF)

"II.2.4. has been obtained from animals which:

have been dispatched from their establishment of origin to a slaughterhouse in means of transport:

Certificate for Fresh Pork (Model 2005/290 Porcine meat CA)

"10.4 has been obtained from animals which:

Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of ratites (Model Certificate RAT)

"II.2.5. has been obtained from animals that:

3. Animal welfare requirements

The Canadian animal welfare requirements for the protection of animals at the time of slaughter have been determined to be equivalent to the EU requirements as set out in Council Regulation (EC) No 1099/2009 of September 24, 2009. Certification of compliance with EU requirements is therefore based on compliance with Canadian requirements, when applicable.

4. Documentation: New EU certification, basic requirements

Note: the following EU certification requirements are applicable as of January 15, 2022. Early adopters pilot project is a project where the active exporters to EU could use the new certification using TRACES before January 15, 2022.

(1) Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/2235 of 16 December 2020 prescribes model animal health/official certificates, for the entry into the union (including the transit) of fresh meat and products derived therefrom. 1 exception is fresh pork for which the certification is prescribed by Decision 2005/290/EC (Model 2005/290 Porcine meat CA)

(2) Chapter 4 of the above Regulation provides "Notes for the completion" of the model certificates for entry into the union.

(3) The type of meat (fresh meat, meat products, etc.) covered by the certificate is defined in Annex I of Regulation EC No 853/2004.

(4) Transit in the union: EU requires that the certificate applicable to the specific type of product be also presented with exported products, intended for a market other than EU, to permit its transit or storage into the union. In such case, section II.1. on "Public health attestation" is to be deleted (as indicated in the certificate).

(5) Transit-storage certification is issued at the request of the exporter.

Below are the additional veterinary certificates that must be used along with form CFIA/ACIA 1454 as a control document:

Notes:

Note: the official veterinarian must ensure that the container number and the container seal number are mentioned in part 1 of EU model certificate as these are required for return of the Canadian meat products.

1) For fresh meat from domestic swine: Veterinary certificate for fresh meat of domestic swine, consigned to the European community – Model in Annex II - Commission Decision 2005/290/EC. (Model 2005/290 Porcine meat CA).

Footnote 1, Footnote 2 2) For fresh meat from domestic bovine animals: Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding mechanically separated meat, of domestic bovine animals - Model BOV; and for high quality bovine when relevant: the Certificate of Authenticity Beef and Veal - Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/761; or the Certificate of Authenticity Beef and Veal - Regulation (EC) No 481/2012, as applicable.

Note:

Certificates of Authenticity will continue to be provided through E-cert as they are not available in TRACES. After completion a pdf version of the certificate should be downloaded in TRACES and included in the documentation issued for the shipment. A copy of the certificate should be kept on file by the CFIA with other relevant documents applicable to the shipment.

3) For fresh meat from domestic solipeds: Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of domestic solipeds (Equus caballus, Equus asinus and their cross-breeds) - Model EQU

4) For fresh meat from farmed Bovidae: Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding offal, minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of animals of the family Bovidae (other than domestic bovine, ovine and caprine animals), camelid animals and cervid animals kept as farmed game) - Model RUF

5) For fresh meat from ratites: Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, excluding minced meat and mechanically separated meat, of ratites - Model RAT

Footnote 1 6) For meat preparations: Animal health/official Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Meat Preparations Intended for Human Consumption - Model MP-PREP

Footnote 1 7) For meat products that do not require a specific treatment: animal health/official Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Fresh Meat Intended for Human Consumption, including rendered animal fats and greaves, meat extracts and treated stomachs, bladders and intestines, others than casings, that are not required to undergo a specific risk-mitigating treatment - Model MPNT

Footnote 1 8) For animal casings: Animal health/official Certificate for the Entry into the Union of Casings Intended for Human Consumption - Model CAS

5. Other Information

5.1 EU market

EU market

The requirements given in this section apply to fresh meat and products derived thereof intended to export to:

5.2 Samples destined to the EU

Samples of meat and poultry meat products intended for laboratory examination, research, evaluative testing or trade show exhibition are not for human consumption. Product must be sourced, processed and stored only in establishments eligible to export to EU.

5.3 List of annexes

5.4 Useful links

Date modified: