Areas regulated for the emerald ash borer


Click on image for larger view
Map - Description for current areas regulated for Emerald Ash Borer by Ministerial Orders. Description follows.

Description for Areas Regulated for the Emerald Ash Borer

The following areas are designated as regulated areas for the emerald ash borer:


  • All the areas within the boundaries of the Division of Greater Sudbury, Hamilton, Kawartha Lakes, Ottawa, Prince Edward and Toronto, the Regional Municipalities of Chatham-Kent, Durham, Halton, Niagara, Peel, Waterloo and York and the Counties of Brant, Bruce, Dufferin, Elgin, Essex, Frontenac, Grey, Haldimand, Haliburton, Hastings, Huron, Lambton, Lanark, Lennox and Addington, Middlesex, Norfolk, Northumberland, Oxford, Perth, Peterborough, Renfrew, Simcoe and Wellington and the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville, the United Counties of Prescott and Russell and the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, and the Districts of Muskoka, Nipissing and Parry Sound, as well as the area within the boundaries of the Manitoulin district, all the areas within the boundaries of Sudbury District (including the Municipality of Killarney) up to the Northern boundaries of Townships: Acadia, Baynes, Bazett, Cavana, Cortez, Dundee, Haentschel, Iris, Kelso, Lampman, Leask, Marquette, Marshay, McPhail, Selkirk, Shelburne, Shelley, Valin and all the areas within the boundaries of Algoma District (including the City of Sault Ste. Marie) up to the Northern boundaries of Townships: Bracci, Butcher, Ewen, Ferrier, Foulds, Gaunt, Gilbertson, Gisborn, Grossman, Guindon, Slater, Smilsky, Tolmonen, Tronsen, Vibert, Way White, Wlasy. The City of Thunder Bay


  • All the areas within the boundaries of Agglomération de Montréal, Agglomération de Longueuil and the municipalités régionales de comté (MRC) Antoine-Labelle, d'Acton, d'Argenteuil, Beauharnois-Salaberry, Brome-Missisquoi, Deux-Montagnes, La Rivière-du-Nord, La Vallée-de-la-Gatineau, La Vallée-du-Richelieu, L'Assomption, La Haute-Yamaska, Laval, Le Haut-Richelieu, Le Haut-Saint-Laurent, Les Collines-de-l'Outaouais, Les Jardins-de-Napierville, Les Laurentides, Les Maskoutains, Les Moulins, Les Pays-d'en-Haut, Marguerite-D'Youville, Mirabel, Montcalm, Papineau, Pierre-De-Saurel, Pontiac, Roussillon, Rouville, Thérèse-De Blainville, Vaudreuil-Soulanges, Joliette, D'Aytray, Matawinie, Arthabaska, Bécancour, Drummond, L'Érable, Nicolet-Yamaska, Coaticook, Le Granit, Le Haut-St-François, Le Val- Saint-François, Les Sources, Memphrémagog, Sherbrooke, Beauce-Sartigan, Bellechasse, La Nouvelle-Beauce, Les Appalaches, Les Etchemins, Lévis, Lotbinière, Robert-Cliche, La Côte de Beaupré, La Jacques-Cartier, L'île d'Orléans, Portneuf, Agglomération de Québec, Les Chenaux, Maskinongé, Mékinac, Shawinigan, Trois-Rivières, Montmagny, L'Islet, Kamouraska, Témiscamingue, Témiscouata, Rivière-du-Loup, Les Basques, Rimouski-Neigette, La Mitis, Matapédia and Avignon Témiscamingue, Témiscouata, Rivière-du-Loup, Les Basques, Rimouski-Neigette, La Mitis, Matapédia and Avignon.


  • The city of Winnipeg

New Brunswick

  • Madawaska County
  • Victoria county
  • Carleton county
  • York county
  • Sunbury county
  • Queens county
  • Kings county
  • Westmorland county
  • Albert county

Nova Scotia

  • Halifax County

To slow the spread of the emerald ash borer (EAB) to new areas, the CFIA uses measures to control the movement of potentially infested materials. People who move regulated materials from regulated areas without the permission of the CFIA could face fines and/or prosecution.

In addition the regulated areas listed above, the movement of materials can also be regulated through legal notices issued to property owners. For properties where EAB has been confirmed, a Prohibition of Movement is issued, which prohibits movement of regulated materials from that specific property. Contact your local Canadian Food Inspection Agency office for additional information.

All of the continental United States

The following states are regulated:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming