Language selection


Appendix 1: List of spongy moth (Lymantria dispar dispar) infested areas of Canada and the United States

This page is part of the Guidance Document Repository (GDR).

Looking for related documents?
Search for related documents in the Guidance Document Repository

Note: These regulated areas are subject to change upon review of relevant scientific information regarding updated survey results by Canadian and the United States phytosanitary officials.

Note: County borders, names, etc. are subject to change by municipal and provincial authorities. Counties listed here are those as defined on the date of this Appendix, please consult maps which reflect the date of this appendix.

An § indicates that this is a new addition to this list.

Canada (Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic regions)

LDD Moth – Map of the Regulated Areas in Canada
LDD moth (Lymantria dispar dispar) – Map of the regulated areas in Canada
(Click on image for larger view)

Ontario region

LDD Moth – Map of the Regulated Areas in Ontario
LDD moth – Map of the regulated areas in Ontario
(Click on image for larger view)
Ontario - List of LDD moth infested areas
Counties, Regional Municipalities and Districts Regulated area within a partially infested County/Regional Municipality or District
Algoma District All areas south of the townships of Alanen, Ashley, Bernst, Carmody, Chenard, Glasgow, Huotari, Leguerrier, Meath, and Memaskwosh
Brant County
City of Brantford
Bruce County
Community of Chatham-Kent
Dufferin County
Regional Municipality of Durham
Elgin County
Essex County
Frontenac County
Grey County
Haldimand County
Haliburton County
Regional Municipality of Halton
City of Hamilton
Hastings County
Huron County
City of Kawartha Lakes
Lambton County
Lanark County
Leeds-Grenville County
Lennox-Addington County
Manitoulin District
Middlesex County
Muskoka District
Regional Municipality of Niagara
Nipissing District
Northumberland County
City of Ottawa
Oxford County
District of Parry Sound
Regional Municipality of Peel
Perth County
Peterborough County
Prescott-Russell County
Prince Edward County
Renfrew County
Simcoe County
Stormont-Dundas-Glengarry County
Sudbury District
Greater Sudbury Division
Temiskaming District
City of Toronto
Regional Municipality of Waterloo
Wellington County
Regional Municipality of York

United States

The following States are entirely within the LDD moth infested area:

Parts of the following States are within the LDD moth infested area:


Counties of:


Counties of:


Counties of:

North Carolina

All of Currituck County and Dare County, the area bounded by a line beginning at the intersection of State Road 1208 and Roanoke Sound; then easterly along this road to its junction with State Road 1206 then southerly along this road to its intersection with U.S. Highway Business 158 then easterly along an imaginary line to its intersection with the Atlantic Ocean; then northwesterly along the coastline to its intersection with the Dare-Currituck County line; then westerly along this county line to its intersection with the Currituck Sound; then southeasterly along this sound to the point of beginning.


Counties of:


Counties of:

Cities of:

West Virginia

Counties of:


Counties of:

Date modified: