Language selection

Search

Notice

This archive of previously issued food recalls and allergy alerts is provided for reference and research purposes.

Users should note that the products listed in the archive have been subject to removal from the marketplace or appropriate corrective action. Food recalls or allergy alerts are not an indication of the food safety status of products produced at a later date.

Food Safety Warning - Consumption of Our Father's Farm brand apricot kernel products may cause cyanide poisoning

From: Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Advisory date:
May 26, 2021
Reason for advisory:
Chemical
Hazard classification:
Class 1
Distribution:
National
Extent of the distribution:
Consumer
Reference number:
14426

Advisory details

Ottawa, May 26, 2021 - The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is warning the public not to consume the products described below due to natural toxin amygdalin. Consumers should not consume the products described below as they contain excessive amygdalin which may cause acute cyanide poisoning.

The following products may have been sold nationally and through Internet sales.

Recalled product

Brand Product Size UPC Codes
Our Father's Farm Bitter Apricot Kernels 454 g Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)
Our Father's Farm Bitter Apricot Kernels 908 g Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)
Our Father's Farm Bitter Apricot Kernels 1.8 kg Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)
Our Father's Farm Extremely Bitter Apricot Kernels 454 g Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)
Our Father's Farm Extremely Bitter Apricot Kernels 908 g Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)
Our Father's Farm Extremely Bitter Apricot Kernels 1.8 kg Not available Best Before 01-31-2022
(may be covered by a sticker)

What you should do

If you think you became sick from consuming a food product, call your doctor.

Check to see if you have the affected products in your home. If the affected products are in your home, do not consume them.

Apricot kernels naturally contain amygdalin, which can release cyanide after being eaten. The human body can eliminate small amounts of cyanide, but larger amounts can result in cyanide poisoning, which could lead to death.

Symptoms of cyanide poisoning include weakness and confusion, anxiety, restlessness, headache, nausea, difficulty breathing and shortness of breath, loss of consciousness, seizures and cardiac arrest.

Background

This warning was triggered by CFIA test results. The CFIA is conducting a food safety investigation, which may lead to the recall of these or other products. If products are recalled, the CFIA will notify the public through a Food Recall Warning.

Illnesses

There have been no reported illnesses associated with the consumption of these products.

Product photos

Printer ready version of photos

Public enquiries and media

Public enquiries
Toll-free: 1-800-442-2342 (Canada and U.S.)
Telephone: 1-613-773-2342 (local or international)
Email: information@inspection.gc.ca
Media relations
Telephone: 613-773-6600
Email: cfia.media.acia@inspection.gc.ca
Date modified: