Language selection


Export of Dogs and Cats to Barbados

Effective January 1, 2015, pets may enter Barbados from all countries provided they meet the import requirements. An import permit for the importation of dogs and cats must be obtained prior to entry into Barbados.

Once the importer has received his or her import permit, an Official Export Health Certificate will be attached and must be completed by a licensed veterinarian in Canada before being presented to a Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) official veterinarian for endorsement. A fee applies for this service. Please be aware there may be specific quarantine requirements, fees, or time constraints for your particular situation.

To bring a dog or cat into Barbados, please perform the following procedures in order:

1. Identify the country of origin

Note: Regardless of origin, all dogs and cats entering Barbados must be

2. Identify your pet with a microchip.

3. Vaccinate your pet against rabies

If your pet is from Category 2, go to step 4

If your pet is from Category 1 (Canada), go to step 5

4. Perform rabies titre test

5. Check for other diseases

6. Treat for parasites

7. Endorse official export health certificate

Transportation Instructions:

If any part of the documentation is deemed unsatisfactory by Barbadian officials, the following may occur:

List of Category 1 countries and territories:

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Ascension Island, Australia, Bahamas, Bermuda, BES Islands (Bonaire, St. Eustatius & Saba), British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands, Curacao, Dominica, European Union Member Countries, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Greenland, Guam, Guadeloupe, Hawaii, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Martinique, Mexico, Monaco, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Republic of Ireland, Russian Federation, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten/St. Martin, St. Pierre & Miquelon, St. Vincent & The Grenadines, San Marino, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Wallis & Futuna.

Date modified: